Is motorcycle insurance required in Florida?

No, technically motorcycle insurance is not required in Florida. However, we recommend all riders purchase it. Failing to do so could leave you emptying your pockets.

Does any insurance cover me?

Motor vehicles in Florida must carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. However, motorcycles are not subject to this rule. What is more, many motorcycle owners in Florida are under the mistaken notion that the PIP coverage for their car will cover them in an accident. That misunderstanding can be costly. 

What insurance is available? 

Many motorcycle accidents result in serious injuries to the rider. It doesn’t take much for bills to soar above $10,000 rather quickly. While Florida law does not require riders purchase PIP coverage, many insurance companies offer policies to help protect riders after an accident. If you purchase PIP coverage, your insurer will cover 80 percent of your medical bills and 60 percent of your lost wages. This can be a godsend when you have thousands of dollars in medical bills with no way to pay them.

Note: You must visit a doctor within 14 days of your accident to recover PIP benefits.

You can also choose to purchase uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) coverage. This insurance will cover you if the other party is uninsured, does not carry enough coverage, or leaves the scene. UM coverage is especially important in Florida as we have so many uninsured drivers in our state.

What about liability coverage? 

While liability coverage is not required in Florida, you can face weighty consequences if you do not have it. You might lose your license, tag, or registration; be forced to pay restitution for any injuries another party faces; or end up with sky-high insurance rates. And this is all on top of the (likely very high) costs of your own injuries. This means you could end up paying tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars out of pocket.

Can I recover compensation from the other party?

If the other party was at least partially at-fault for your accident, s/he will be partially liable for your injuries. You can recover compensation for:

  • Medical bills
  • Future medical costs
  • Lost wages
  • Lost earning capacity (if your injuries require you to take a lesser-paying job or retire completely)
  • Any vehicle or home modifications you need to make to accommodate a disability 

Remember though, that if you were partially at-fault, you can be responsible for covering a portion of your own injuries and the other party’s as well.

For example, if you were speeding through an intersection when a car turned left into your path, you will both likely be liable for the accident. If the insurer finds you 30 percent at-fault, you will only be able to recover 70 percent of your settlement. If you requested $50,000, you can only recover $35,000. This can leave you paying $15,000 out-of-pocket and 30 percent of the costs of any injuries the other party suffered. 

Can I recover compensation for my pain and suffering?

Yes. Unlike automobile drivers, motorcyclists injured in an accident can recover compensation for all their injury-related costs without meeting an injury threshold. This means you can recover compensation for noneconomic damages such as pain and suffering, mental anguish, anxiety, depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder, all of which are common after a motorcycle accident. 

Where can I get help after a motorcycle accident in Fort Lauderdale?

Florida motorcycle insurance law can be confusing. If you have been injured in a Florida motorcycle accident, know how to protect your rights so you receive the compensation you are rightfully due. Give Coffey Trial Law a call. We can explain all your options and help you recover the compensation you deserve.

We understand that many people brush off hiring a lawyer because they think they cannot afford one. For this reason, we offer free consultations and operate on a contingency fee basis. This means that we will handle your entire case with no upfront out-of-pocket costs from you. We only recover compensation once you win your case. So, there is no obligation when you discuss your case with us. Contact us today: 954-541-3194.